Bobby Zen

Godolphin’s Cody’s Wish (Curlin) was named 2023 Kentucky-bred Horse of the Year and older dirt male, while his dam, Dance Card (Tapit), was named broodmare of the year by the Kentucky Thoroughbred Owners and Breeders. Godolphin also received awards for Pretty Mischievous (Into Mischief) as champion 3-year-old filly and as KTDF Owner of the Year and winner of the P.A.B. Widener Trophy as KTOB Breeder of the Year.

Other Kentucky-bred champions announced Wednesday: 2-year-old male: Fierceness (City of Light) (Breeder Repole Stable); 2-year-old filly Just F Y I (Justify) (George Krikorian); 3-year-old male Arcangelo (Arrogate) (Don Alberto Corporation); older dirt female and female sprinter Goodnight Olive (Ghostzapper) (Stonestreet Thoroughbred Holdings); male turf horse Up to the Mark (Not This Time) (Ramspring Farm); female turf horse War Like Goddess (English Channel) (Calumet Farm); male sprinter Elite Power (Curlin) (Alpha Delta Stables); racing abroad Lemon Pop (Lemon Drop Kid) (Mr. and Mrs. Oliver Tait); steeplechase horse Snap Decision (Hard Spun) (Phipps Stable).

The 2023 Merit awards, recognizing individuals for their contributions to the Kentucky Thoroughbred industry, will be presented at the KTOB Awards Dinner. The Charles W. Engelhard Award, acknowledging a member of the media for outstanding coverage of the Thoroughbred industry, will be presesented to Thoroughbred Daily News’ Chris McGrath. The William T. Young Humanitarian Award, which distinguishes a person or organization in the Thoroughbred industry “who recognizes and promotes the human endeavor,” will be presented to Frederick J. Seitz.

Also to receive awards are the top Kentucky Thoroughbred Development Fund (KTDF) money earners in 2023 in five separate categories: KTDF sire of the year Into Mischief (Spendthrift Farm); KTDF earner of the year Ancient Rome (Mrs. Fitri Hay); KTDF trainer of the year Brad Cox; and KTDF breeder of the year Calumet Farm.

Recipients of the 2023 KTOB Kentucky-Bred Champion awards were voted on by the full membership of KTA/KTOB, while the KTDF category leaders were tabulated using purse money won

at Kentucky racetracks in 2023. KTOB merit award recipients were voted on by the KTA/KTOB Board of Directors.

The post Cody’s Wish Named KTOB Horse of the Year appeared first on TDN | Thoroughbred Daily News | Horse Racing News, Results and Video | Thoroughbred Breeding and Auctions.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Got questions? Please complete the form below and we’ll get back to you asap.

Join Bobby's Newsletter

Enter your email to sign up for Bobby’s newsletter get new racing tips right in your inbox.